SoCS: wine glass? or glass pipe?

There is such an hypocritical attitude in our society between alcohol and marijuana and it really bugs me. So many people still think getting drunk is fun, funny and entertaining. It isn’t if you aren’t the drinker.

The other day I was watching Ellen and there was  little video of a coffee machine making cocktails. It shows a working mother starting with one in the morning and then another….. she calls in sick and gets stumbling drunk. Everyone was roaring with laughter. I didn’t find this the least bit funny. Not only that; what if that video was a mom with a bong? From DeGeneres to degenerate. (I couldn’t resist using that)

All those memes on Facebook like “it’s wine o’clock!”. People falling out of cars saying how much fun they had last night; its not only acceptable but pushed.

I quit drinking alcohol over thirty years ago because when I drank, I didn’t stop drinking. Alcohol turns off the part in my brain that says, “you’ve had enough” and I’m pretty sure I’m not unusual in that respect from what I see. Not only that; alcohol turned me into someone I don’t want to be. With marijuana, I’m still myself.

Marijuana is known for making people ‘paranoid’. To me, that’s the part that says, “you’ve had enough” and it’s almost immediate. There’s no smoking so much you get stumbling around, saying stupid things. If you smoke too much you fall asleep. You don’t say anything stupid because you are afraid everything coming out of  your mouth might be stupid. There’s no waking up in the morning with a hangover wondering what you did last night to embarrass yourself. There is no hangover because you aren’t poisoned.

Soon it is going to be legal. Remember in the recent past when gay people getting married became legal? In my lifetime, attitudes have changed completely. I sure hope that happens with pot.

Have you ever seen those lit up cabinets with fancy wine glasses in it? Well, now we can have a fancy lit-up cupboard with glass bongs and pipes in it. People will admire them and say ,”oh, how lovely!”. We can say to our guests, pick out a pipe or bong and have a smoke with me and we’ll be classy and elegant!

I’m not going to do that; I don’t have enough room in my kitchen for a special cupboard and I rarely ever have guests. I just really want to point out the Great Hypocrisy.

And I want to add a footnote to all those people who don’t need to do anything because they are so high on life;  good for you!

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday and Just Jot It January is: “glass.” Use the word “glass,” or find something that’s made of it and use that in your post. Have fun!

SoCS

https://lindaghill.com/2017/01/20/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-and-jusjojan-jan-2117/

6 thoughts on “SoCS: wine glass? or glass pipe?

  1. I agree with everything you said! I used to drink some, and smoke some. With pot, you tend to laugh a lot and just mellow out. Alcohol makes some people mean, and dangerous, especially if they get in a car and drive, causing wrecks and death. I don’t get the hypocrisy either.

  2. Haha! Very well done on the hypocrisy. I don’t smoke, but I am all for legalizing it and normalizing it. It helps so many people. So many. I agree it’s less dangerous than drunk. I do enjoy drinking now and again, but I am usually high on anxiety, not so much life 😉

  3. I see your point of view and agree with most of what you say, but as a an ex-teacher of children and adolescents (I now teach adults) I think marijuana, at least at the moment, could lead young people towards other more dangerous illegal drugs, mainly because the people who supply marijuana, are often the same people who sell other harder drugs, so they’re just a step away from trying them too. There’s no easy answer to whether to legalise or not or how to legislate and protect younger generations. I’m just glad my children are all grown up now 🙂

    • I think here in Canada they’re talking about selling it in the liquor stores. So there will be the other influence if it’s legalized. I’m assuming that even if it’s legal, they’ll still arrest dealers who don’t have a license to sell, the same as they do with alcohol.

  4. My prejudice against marijuana is totally due to the smell – I can’t stand it. Hash on the other hand… I wonder if that will fall under the category of legal. Same THC, different form.

  5. Alcohol contributes to more domestic violence, more homicides, more assaults, and and more accidents than marijuana. Way more. I agree that our society is lopsided in it’s attitudes toward these drugs. I don’t use either one, but I do spend too much time on the computer. 🙂 If marijuana becomes legal in my state, I probably won’t smoke it due to the respiratory irritation/risks, until I’m really old.

Leave a comment