SoCS: excersize!

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “a word you have to look up.” We all have words we can never spell. Use one of yours in your post and let that word drive your stream of consciousness where ever it goes.

I use it so much; exercise. Hey, I got it! I want to spell it excersize. Its ex- cer and I was sure there had to be a zed in there. I spelled it so wrong, so many times and looked it up so many times.

Exericise . . ha! Exercise is my volunteer gig! I volunteer for a mental health program and they sent me to a course to teach exercise to seniors. It was an expensive, university course! I would say exercise is a very important thing: I nag people who don’t.

I’m getting lots of excersize (no I didn’t do that on purpose) taking loads of firewood in my wheel barrow and stacking it in the wood shed. I’ve been so obsessed about getting it done I hadn’t been out on the trail which is right next to my house. So many days I told myself I was going out on the trail but then just chucked wood until I was too tired.

The colours of the leaves are beautiful; the smell of wet birch leaves is heavenly so I took only one load into the shed yesterday then went for a hike.

Exercise is so important! I am 67 years old and its really easy to tell who has been eating right and exercising at my age. If you are young or even getting middle aged; make exercise a habit now! Walk, dance, play a sport, whatever; make it part of your life. I am so thankful my mom nagged me!

I’m going to turn this prompt on its side to talk about my Zoom Balderdash game. Its a word you are not supposed to look up!

I highly recommend starting this game with friends to get ready for a long, dark, lonely winter. Just a few zoom meetings I regularly go on now has improved my mental health a lot! I live alone and can go days without talking to anyone. Writing and texting is not the same.

(I already have too many players so this isn’t an invitation.)

I send out 2 words on Monday by e-mail that no one knows the meaning of. Each player sends me their made up definitions by email or text. Wednesday evening we meet on Zoom and I read all the definitions along with the real one. Then everyone guesses. You get a point for the guessing the right answer but you also get a point for each person that guesses your definition.

It only takes a half hour to play 2 words but its a little something to look forward to.

So, there’s my advice for everyone to improve your mental health; excersize, exersize, exercise and get on Zoom with friends.

4 thoughts on “SoCS: excersize!

  1. Totally agree on the exercise. It makes a monumental difference in a person’s ability to manage the aging process. I just came back from a brisk walk in the autumn air, and the good feeling will carry me through the rest of the day.

  2. It has been a while since I’ve caught up with you and your blog (sorry). So glad you are still here and posting, and how things have changed. If it is the same senior center, you were once a participant and now here you are teaching. You sound more upbeat. Loved your post. 🙂

Leave a comment