SoCS: cheers

Stream of consciousness on Cheers; In Canada its said when you all have a drink and clink your glasses together. I’m usually tipping a ginger-ale.

Once I was at a wedding and someone in charge (a parent?) made me hold a glass of wine and put it to my lips. For Pete’s Sake; how can it be so important?

English people say ‘cheers’ when they say good-bye. It bugs me, I don’t like it. It especially bugs me when someone who was in England for a short time says it when they say good-bye. I hate that.

Cheers is what my friends down south in Tennessee and Alabama call those things around a taa-ble. Man, I loved that accent. I usually came home with a bit of it.ย  Worse when you do it down there and they notice. They think you are making fun of them.

It’s going to be hotter here in Canada than Mumbai, India. I’m going to make some fruity water (very thinly sliced orange and lime in water) toย mix with pineapple juice and stay indoors. Cheers!

socs-badge-2017-18

https://lindaghill.com/2018/06/29/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-30-18/

6 thoughts on “SoCS: cheers

  1. That’s pretty weird for someone to make you put a glass of wine to your lips when you didn’t want to. Issues! Ginger Ale is my party drink these days. Gonna make some fruity water!

  2. We use cheers for hello, goodbye and thank you as well as when we chink glasses and toast eachother in England ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ˜Š sorry you don’t like it ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’œ

Leave a comment