SoCS: carefully

stream-of-consciousness-saturday-2018-19

Carefully, I wrote to my friend who wants to come and stay with me for another 5 days. It wasn’t that long ago she was here for 5 days and that was too long.

We had not seen each other for 50 years. Yes, since the year of Woodstock. So it was great getting together but too long. I’m an extreme introvert and she’s an extreme extrovert. I guess time has made us what we are today in comparison to being 10-15 years old.

The talking wore me down after two days. I wrote a post about it and I don’t want to go over that again.  https://monicleblog.wordpress.com/2019/04/13/socs-the-flip-side/

A week ago she asked, no; not asked, told me she was coming for 5 days. I didn’t say no.  Yesterday she started to think she had too much going on to come when she first planned.  She said, “That would give me only two non-driving days and that’s not enough.” Then she said it; “What do you think?”

Now I am very honest to the point of blurting out things that offend people. She asked me what I thought . . . I thought about posting a meme on Facebook about guests and fish . Hasn’t she heard that one?

Carefully, I wrote to my friend.  “Two days is not enough for you: five days is too much for me. The ball is in your court.”

 

(FYI: I did not send her this)

guests-like-fish

 

 

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “adverb.” Start your post with any adverb and just run with it.

https://lindaghill.com/2019/05/17/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-18-19/

7 thoughts on “SoCS: carefully

  1. Ah, yes. I recall your posts about this. This is a tough one. It sounds like you handled it well, and honestly. Plus, didn’t you say last time *to her* that she was wearing you out? It shouldn’t be a surprise to her. … I guess this means you won’t be the Canadian who adopts me . . .

      • Me too! To be fair, I’m a misanthropic introvert, so I would stay out of your hair. 🙂 I’ll just have to work my way across Canada. There’s the blogger from the Bay of Fundy… and I think Linda Hill lives in Vancouver, so I’ll just float the idea East to West. LOL

  2. I wonder if that means three days would be okay or if three is too many. If she knows you are an introvert, I would think she’d understand and at least have some empathy.

Leave a comment