SoCS: show

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “show.” Use it as a noun or a verb. Have fun!

One of my favorite shows had their season premiere last night but it turned out to be a disappointment. It was “We’re Here”. 3 drag queens go to small town America and put on a drag show. They started in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. However, it wasn’t the joy and freedom of last year’s show. Gay and trans people live in fear of showing who they really are. The drag queens faced being arrested for putting on a show. It made me sad. However, they decided to call out for any drag queens and allies to show up and show up they did! In great numbers! So all was not lost.

****************************************************************************

I had a test on my bladder. They went right up there and, to my great surprise, a tumor showed up on screen. He assured me it was just small and I need a CT scan to make sure it isn’t coming from higher in the kidneys. That was 2 months ago. I have been chasing the CT dept and the urologist. Last week the CT dept left a message they needed bloodwork from my urologist. The urologist left a message to call them back. I did that and got a machine saying they would call me back within 48 hrs. I phoned the health center where my family doctor is. Do I have to wait for my urologist to refer me or can I go ahead and make my appointment? “Oh the referral is here.” so I got my bloodwork done. I never did hear back from the urologist. Yes, I’m getting worried. My best friend died of cancer last year. They only found it shortly before she died.

***************************************

I showed up for the lunch the health center gave for the volunteers; I’m so glad I did because I was invited to join a drumming circle. That’s all I have to do with my volunteer gig these days; show up. When you suffer from depression and anxiety its very important to show up. Most people wouldn’t even understand how hard it is just to show up sometimes.

I’m going to show up for a family gathering tomorrow. I will wear a smile. I’m looking forward to playing games with my grandnephews. I need some fun.

Today is a rainy day but the spring greenery and flowers are so showy! (ok that one is a stretch). I’m going to get my woodstove fired up and watch some ghost shows. My favorite is Help, My House is Haunted. I have a huge crush on Ian Lawman. I also enjoy the team on the show Ghost Adventures. But I will only watch these shows during the day. At night I switch to murder shows: there are so many these days! Murder is popular.

But TV is bleak without RuPauls’ drag race. We are between shows right now.

Why would anyone want to suck the joy out of someone else’s life? We get so little of it. Show people you love them for who they are!

Leave a comment