Oooh, It’ Canada Day

Well, tonight everyone is going to be ‘ooohing’ and ‘aaahing’ over the fireworks. I might even see some. The town I work in is having a huge display over the lake. It starts at 10:00 and I get off work at 10:00. The store is only a few blocks from the beach so I might just walk over after work….. maybe, if I’m not too exhausted to care.

I’m not a big fan of fireworks. So noisy, polluting and terrifying to animals and birds. In my last house we lived behind a cricket field where they had fireworks every Canada Day. We watched from behind in the woods and after every bang all the birds flapped and clucked in fear. We all know how our dogs react so all those little animals outside are doing the same.

Last night I was watching TV, windows closed when a huge bang made me jump. Then another and another…… a whole series of bangs for 15 minutes. I looked out thinking must be able to see them but they were too far, yet the noise was like it was next door.

Another thing making me ambivalent towards Canada Day is that I have 10 or 12 Facebook friends who are First Nations so I’ve had lots of reminders on how our great country was built on broken treaties. 150 years isn’t that long compared to the 13,000 years they’ve been here. What we did to the Indigenous people is nothing to be proud of.

On the other hand; I love Canada! What a great country to live in! Of course we want to celebrate being Canadian. I’ve just had it up to my eyeballs in Canada Day Flag every-fucking-thing in the store. So sick of Canada Day cakes and cupcakes and every thing covered in red and white and flags……. this has been going on all week for us and now it peaks today…. today is The Day. Canada Day.

My ‘ooh’s’ and ‘aahs’ will come tonight when I close my front door behind me.

“aah…. I’m home.”

“ooh” (more of an ‘ew’) when I take of those polyester pants. “aaahhh” when I take off my bra and massage my squished breasts.

Then the bigger “AAAH” when I put on my soft, worn out cotton PJ’s and the final ‘aahh’ when reclining on my couch.

Happy Canada Day! Be nice to the people who are working to serve you.

SoCS

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “ooooh, aaaah,”. Use it as a phrase, or break it apart.

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS July 1/17

