I Put a Spell on You

“I put a spell on you because you’re MINE. You better stop the things yur doin’, Look out! I aint’ lyin'”

One of my all time favourite songs. How many people have done that song? It’s raw and powerful…. you feel the passion. I love to sing it, too.

Written by Screaming Jay Hopkins, beautifully sung by Nina Simone, later brought to my generation through Creedence Clearwater Revival and recently by Annie Lennox.  That’s what kind of singer you have to be. No cutesy Taylor Swift or Adrianna Grande could pull this off.

My ex husband visited me this week. It was nice and polite and a great reminder of how well I’m doing now. At one time I sang this song to him in my head but now it’s long past that. He didn’t change his evil ways and we separated.

I worked four days this week and he visited me on my day off so I’m worn down.  I have today off to re-couperate, re-group and reflect. After all, it’s still Mercury in retrograde.

I think I’ll go look back a few of my favourite versions. This is my stream of consciousness.

 

 

Yeah, I ain’t gonna take no more of your putting me down. Ain’t gonna take no more of your messing around.  But good luck, honey, you’re no longer mine.

https://lindaghill.com/2017/04/21/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-apr-2217/

6 thoughts on “I Put a Spell on You

  1. My generation knows this song best from the movie Hocus Pocus, sung by Bette Midler to bewitch her victims into dancing until they die. One of my favourite 90s memories from childhood. Thanks for this remember today of all days, nowhere near Halloween.

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling stronger and moving past. Have you explained why he’s still visiting? I’m really glad I don’t have to have that little bit of stuff in my life: a visiting ex.

    • I didn’t heard from him for two years so I called him. I really wanted him to prune my apple tree.
      He buys bulk honey in this area and usually stops by for a visit. but too late to prune my apple tree.

      • Two years?!?! Well, that gives a clue as to how long I’ve been following your blog. I thought I had remembered him coming out “not too long ago”! And LOL about not in time to prune your tree, not that the tree was left unpruned but that he still has chores. 🙂

Leave a Reply

