I’ll be cookin’ soon

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “cook.” Find a word that means “cook,” (or use “cook” itself) and use it any way you’d like. Have fun!

SoCS

Today I plan on cooking myself. That doesn’t mean preparing food alone, it means getting my wood stove going so hot I have to get down to my t-shirt and exclaim, “I’m cookin’!”  It will be easy because it’s not very cold outside.

I’m off until Boxing Day! This week was busy: I burned out Thursday night. The customers get so much crazier; the Christmas carols, which had been every third song, are now every song and cranked up to the most psycho insanely santa shit and merry, merry, jolly, happy for six hours until you want to scream; shut the fuck up! How many versions are there of “All I Want For Christmas is You”?  In six hours there are three different versions.

It’s also very cold at work, and I work in the bakery! The lunch room is so damn cold I have to sit on my coat and wrap it around me. Thursday night I was on six hours which means punching out for a half hour break (Yes, six hours there, paid for 5 1/2) and sitting in that freezing cold room under a speaker so the carols and announcements are even louder. I usually cut my break short so I can go open the oven and warm up.

Friday a Christmas miracle happened. I was supposed to work 12:00 to 5:00 and wondered how I was going to get through it; on the verge of a crying jag ready to blow. Then my boss phoned and said he didn’t need me, Merry Christmas!  Joy!

Since I’d planned on getting my groceries after work I went to another grocery store and stocked up for three days of indulgence.  I ignored the mess that has piled up all week, stayed cozy all afternoon then cooked a decent dinner (lot of cheese sandwiches this past week)  with sweet potato, broccoli, asparagus and paneer on coconut rice. Have to put healthy stuff in my body so it can deal with the crap I have in store for it.

 

 

Thought I would look this up; how many versions are there?  couldn’t find a number but there are LOTS of versions https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_I_Want_for_Christmas_Is_You

“As of 2013, the song was reported to have earned $50 million in royalties.[7]

all_i_want_for_christmas_is_you_mariah_carey

 

I can’t think of anything witty to say about that. I’m going to go cook myself now.

 

https://lindaghill.com/2016/12/23/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-dec-2316/

Leave a Reply

