Dare I Ask?

I’m daring to throw a wrench in the works; I suggested all of my family go somewhere else for their turkey dinner and come to my house for pie, coffee and a walk on the trail.

It’s Thanksgiving here in Canada next weekend and the stirrings begin; who and where is the big turkey dinner this year?

First we have to co-ordinate days off as my nephew is a fireman and I usually work weekends. This year he only has Sunday off and my niece is going to her in-laws on Sunday. I have Sunday and Monday off: I’m working the dreaded 1:00 to 9:00 p.m. shift on Saturday.

My nephew works so hard. His fireman shifts are 24 hours long, he is renovating their big, stone house, owns a building with 3 apartments and is a great, highly involved Dad. If he only has one day off, I don’t want him trying to make everyone else’s day great and getting no rest at all.

OMG, I can miss the turkey dinner. I’m vegetarian and my family is so considerate of that they go out of their way to accommodate me. I end up with so much on my plate, usually with baked beans, I’m stuffed to the gills and starting to blow by dessert. They get all embarrassed about carving the turkey, you’d think they were hiding a dead body. (Well, come to think of it…..)

I started to e-mail or message a few times then deleted it but this morning I sent the e-mail. They don’t always respond to e-mails, which are old-fashioned, but messaging just seems too urgent requiring a response. I don’t want them to drop what they are doing to kick around the “where’s the turkey?” routine.

I don’t want them to think I’ll get left out if they all go to the other families for Turkey Dinner. And I don’t want them to feel bad telling me ‘no’ because they don’t want to drive all this way on Sunday.

So I’m daring to buck the family tradition and RELAX!

turkey

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/daring/

4 thoughts on “Dare I Ask?

Leave a Reply

