Set an Example

It’s a good thing the prompt says to use “ex” in a word because my ex is the first thing that pooped (ha!) popped into my head and I don’t want to talk about him.

There is another angry person affecting my life and I want to set an example for the right way to deal with an angry person. I have to muster up all my inner strength, maintain my balance and not get into a bitch war. I must exude wisdom and maturity.

My co-worker is angry most of the time so when she’s in a bad mood, its extremely bad. A week ago I had worked the night shift and didn’t get home until 11:00 p.m. then was in the next day for a 7 hour shift, and it was a long weekend. Needless to say, I was tired and depressed. She was ranting and could not stop herself from running off at the mouth. I tried my best to ignore her until she starting spitting about how we are “all going to lose our jobs” because of icing bags.

I told her to “Chillax”. She exploded. But not with me, she stomped out and picked a fight with someone in the deli. Then she came back and said to my boss; “I have to leave, I’m so mad.” and she did.

Fortunately, I didn’t see her all week.

This weekend has the same shifts. I worked last night, got home at 10:30 and I’m going in today at noon until 7:00. Last night, I started at 5:00 and she was finishing at 5:00. She very visibly and dramatically ignored me.

So today I want to set an example for how to deal with anger. I’m not just old, I’m mature. I don’t do bitch wars. It’s easy to descend into bullshit but difficult to maintain inner poise and reason.

My feelings are that she likes to be mad, its part of her personality. She never tells the person she’s mad at why she’s mad but she tells everyone else. I’ve heard her in the lunchroom spewing her venom. I don’t think she’s interested in working things out: she wears her anger like a badge of honour.

In a way, this is about my ex. I learned all about anger when I went to counselling to find out what was wrong with me and why I made him so mad. We fought and fought because I tried to defend myself at whatever he was mad at. That would never work because he was angry, he had anger…… the reason was moot.

Today I’m going to keep all this in mind and try to make our work place more pleasant for everyone by setting an example.

Maybe that’s even that answer to why I’m there. Sometimes our lives seem so mundane and mediocre we think we should be doing something more meaningful, like we missed out on something better. But this is where we are, this day, this place, this moment, these people……  every moment is a new opportunity to do the right thing and set an example.

 

https://lindaghill.com/2016/08/05/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-aug-616/

6 thoughts on “Set an Example

  1. I believe you’re on to something about why you’re working where you are. Your work there is not just the work you get paid for. Anger can be addictive, a habit, giving people a false sense of power and sometimes covers up other feelings like fear and sadness. Of course sometimes it’s just anger, but if it’s the only emotion we get from someone, then it’s got to be a cover up part of the time. That’s still no excuse to inflict anger on others. I’m glad your coworker didn’t explode on you. I admire how you’re dealing with this.

Leave a Reply

