Long Weekend

It’s long weekend on both sides of the border. We get some American tourists as I live only a 1 hour drive from the border. Some have had cottages here for generations.

We talk amongst ourselves that you ‘can always tell when it’s an American’. I heard that the other day. A woman had her nose wrinkled and alluded to the fact that we didn’t have much. My co-worker whispered, “probably American”.

Yesterday was Canada Day. I was supposed to be off so I took my monthly medication for osteoporosis which makes my intestines expand to full capacity.  I had just taken it, along with the large glass of water, when my boss phoned and asked it I could come in. Not passing up ‘time and a half’ I said yes.

Do you know how long intestines are? Very, very long. When expanding, they are so very uncomfortable. Even my thoughts were pushed aside by the alien growing inside me.

There were five of us in the bakery going crazy, weaving through carts, competing for counter space. Customers were demanding. (They were probably American)

It was a long day. I was counting the hours to half-time for my break then counting the hours until 5:00.  One of our students, the laziest, said her parents wanted her leave. My boss turned and asked if I could work until 6:00. He had been in since 5:00 a.m. and really wanted to go at 5:00 p.m.  If I said no, he would stay until 6:00.

I stayed until 6:00.

This morning he is in there already while I am leisurely having coffee beside an open window. A breeze is rustling the leaves and warblers are sweetly singing. The sun is rising behind the trees throwing a beautiful living silhouette on the wall opposite the window. I feel very fortunate.

But out there, in the world, it’s still the Long Weekend. I’m working tonight (I sure hope he doesn’t call me in early) then I’m back in tomorrow.

My Stream of Consciousness has used enough words now, my mind is drifting away…..

socs-badge-2015

https://lindaghill.com/2016/07/01/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-216/

6 thoughts on “Long Weekend

  1. You deserve a raise, and I admire your sense of responsibility. I tend to be overly responsible, but there have been times when I’ve needed a break and misplaced my phone. It’s interesting to read about what people from other countries think about Americans. I’m not always proud of those perceptions, but it’s good to know. I’m sorry some of my country folk can be like that. If I’m interpreting this correctly, it sounds like Americans have a reputation of getting whatever they want when they want it, having access to a wide variety of products, a consumerism thing? Too bad. I like the fact that I am able to get by with just the basics if necessary. As long as I have toilet paper, I can survive. I hope you enjoy your day.

    • Sorry! I was only teasing! It was tongue-in-cheek as I know Americans read this. My husband was American, he was from Milwaukee. There is every type everywhere. People from the city generally are used to never running out of anything and ours is a small town that gets a big population explosion.
      I’ve been thinking of asking for raise.
      Hope your enjoy your long weekend, too!

      • No need to apologize, though I appreciate it. I was interested rather than offended. I hope you get a raise, as long as you don’t have to work harder, because you already work hard, or maybe some other benefits.

  2. He,he, your American friends will call you out on this when you go visiting 😉
    I would like to invite you to my blog party that’s taking place as we speak. It’s rocking and a lovely way to connect with other bloggers. Hope you can make it 🙂

Leave a Reply

