Class and Perfection

“I’m one hell of a classy broad and don’t you forget it!”

socs-badge-2015

One of my favourite lines stolen from Midnight Cowboy. An aging call girl is furious when the young male prostitute thinks he’s the one with a client.

Of course, yelling in someone’s face that you are a classy broad more or less proves you have no class at all. But yelling it out loud to yourself is a positive affirmance and guaranteed to put a smile on your face. Go ahead, roll back your shoulders three times, get in a place with good acoustics and yell out it loud.

“I’m one hell of a classy broad and don’t you forget it!”

Repeat several times. Feels good, eh? It’s empowering.

The ‘other’ prompt reminds me of when I was first learning how to tell myself I was ALRIGHT.  If you read my blog regularly you may have heard this story, it’s one of those pivotal moments in my life.

After losing my marriage, job and home I was miserable and depressed. It felt like a dark hole I couldn’t crawl out of.  My sister suggested we try Zumba at the local YMCA to see what it was like. I love to dance but hadn’t danced in years. My ex didn’t dance so neither did I.  After years of mental and emotional abuse, I felt like an empty shell of a person.

Back at Zumba; I’m starting to move around and it feels good. Shakira sings; “oh, baby, when you talk like that, you make a women go mad.” I start to chuckle. My lips crack open and a smile started.

I’m shaking my hips and singing “Baby, don’t you see that this is perfection?”

When I went home that night, I thought, “I feel good!”  It was a revelation!  I realized I hadn’t felt good in a very long time.

I still have to reprimand myself when I let those negative voices get in my head. I usually start with;

“There’s nothing wrong with you!”

Then I go on to remind myself on how far I’ve come since those dark days.

“I’m one hell of a classy broad and this is perfection!”

 

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/perfection/

https://lindaghill.com/2016/06/17/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-1816/

3 thoughts on “Class and Perfection

Leave a Reply

