I Conquered Fear

Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

Many years ago I did public speaking. Hard to believe now, my life has changed a lot.

The spiritual path I am on has an organization I no longer have contact with but ‘inside’ I’m still a believer.  There are ‘designated speakers’ as opposed to preachers and I was asked to ‘speak’ on the subject. There were guides lines such as; someone who has never been there before should get an idea of what it’s all about. But it also had to be interesting enough for those who go every week.

I was terrified at first, of course, who isn’t?  I found if I had every word written in front of me and didn’t have ad-lib, I was fine.  The first time I just looked down and read it so fast I was done too early.

But I was well-received and complimented so I grew more confident and could look out at the audience every once in a while. My home base was Kitchener but I was asked to speak in Toronto, Brampton and Hamilton, too.

Now that I look back, it was perfectly orchestrated by the powers that look after me. Just a year or so before I was asked to speak, I took a creative writing course.  That helped me write well laid out ‘talks’; to start with a theme, then build it into a half-hour.  It also boosted my self-esteem by leaps and bounds. My mentor knew just what I needed.

Also, I had been caving and in some life-threatening situations. I have faced fear and kicked its ass!

 

WordPress ;you suck! I can’t paste! I’ve checked it everywhere else, only here trying to write and I can’t paste the link!!!!

I’m not fiddling with this one more second.

2 thoughts on “I Conquered Fear

  1. Did you get the link thing sorted out? There’s a little icon of a link on the edit mode. And you can just type in the web address, or copy and paste.Not sure how long you’ve been blogging, but if you are knew to it, just hang in there. WordPress is really pretty good once you’ve worked it for a while.

    • The “link thing” was a problem with pasting. I could ‘copy’ but it would not ‘paste’ for a couple of days. I was going around all my other programs and it ‘pasted’ but not here. It’s OK now. ??? It was Mercury in retrograde.

Leave a Reply

