No Singing, Please.

Yay, our clocks have gone back so we aren’t saving time anymore. Stupid notion. I can’t how it can save farmers’ time? Sun up to sundown….. who cares about the numbers?

I say, ‘yay’ because now I get the prompt at 8:00 a.m. instead of 9:00.  That hour makes a big difference on whether I write or not.

In the summer 9:00 a.m. is well into the day. I’m either leaving for work or wanting to do stuff around here. Now at 8:00 a.m. the sun is still struggling up so its coffee/computer time.

We are having a glorious Indian Summer and I have the week off!  Things have slowed….. hours are cut back…. they hired 4 new cashiers and screwed me but, hey, I’m off all week and the weather is gorgeous…….can’t be upset about that!

OK, the prompt;

Safe inside, toasty warm, while water pitter-patters on the roof… describe your perfect, rainy afternoon.

On a rainy afternoon you will find me in the corner of my sectional watching an old movie on TCM. It doesn’t matter if there isn’t a good one on….. I have a few in my PVR waiting for a rainy day off. I love old movies. But it won’t be ‘Singing in the Rain’ or any other musical. I’m just not into musicals.

Humphrey Bogart, Robert Mitchum, Judy Holiday, Carol Lombard, just a few of the names that will draw me to watch whatever they made.  Or from great directors like John Huston, Billy Wilder, Alfred Hitchcock…… you know it’s going to be good.

Some are so good I can watch them every few years and enjoy my favourite parts. “Treasure of the Sierra Madre” comes to mind. Gritty and raw, no glossing over the characters.  The screw-ball comedies in the 1930’s and early 40’s had fast and funny dialogues.  Movies before WW 2 were better; something happened after the war and into the 50’s…. The McCarthy Era stifled Hollywood with fear.

The styles of fashion and hair were sophisticated and glamorous. The hip lingo of the day, architecture, current affairs, ideas…..  all held in a capsule for us to experience.

Back in the old days there were only soap operas and game shows on in the afternoon. Now there is so much choice it’s crazy and still a lot of crap. I have TCM and a PVR, I can spend any rainy day off watching a good, old movie.  If it’s chilly, there’s a fire in the woodstove and I’m snacking on something delicious.

 

https://monicleblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/sorry-books-i-love-tcm/

******************************************************************

Aw, I just got a call….. I’m working tonight. oh well, I need the hours and at least I can still enjoy the best part of today.

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Singin’ in the Rain.”

Leave a Reply

