Daily Prompt; I worked.

Think about what you wanted to accomplish last week. Did you? What are the things that hold you back from doing everything you’d like to do?

Yes, I had a successful week.  What I wanted to do was survive, mentally and physically, so I could rise to a full-time schedule and make some money.  I did it….. I worked as hard as I could every shift scheduled, wasn’t late once, stayed late every shift, didn’t return the venom spit at me on a bad day. I did tear-up one morning but it passed.

I had Tuesday and Thursday off.

Tuesday I rested. (well, that’s after four hours of housework so I can feel good about resting.) In the evening, I went to see Minions with my 13 yr. old grandniece who was staying with my sister. Listening to those kids laugh hilariously is worth sitting through the movie.

Thursday my sister was driving to my niece’s new house in Kindcardine.  It’s a 2 or 3 hour drive for me and I hadn’t been there yet. My grandnephew, is almost 3;  funny, affectionate and adorable: I’ve been really wanting to go up for a visit. My sister was going up with my grandniece. Her Dad, my nephew, was going to meet us there to take her home. No way would I pass up seeing everyone…… and not driving!  Even though it wasn’t a restful day, it did me a world of good mentally to be with people who loved me and be fed delicious food. I went in the next day almost cheery!  (They shut that down in no time)

I worked 2:00 until 11:00 p.m. yesterday….. so exhausting. Today I’m supposed to be there but …… last night there was a revised schedule notice….. I’m off until Wednesday! My boss knew I had reached my limits. Good thing he wasn’t there yesterday…. I would have hugged him for letting me off today.

I didn’t even mind working all night knowing I’d be off today. Although, I felt pretty shitty by 10:00 and I still hadn’t mopped the floors yet. While I was getting the mop and bucket I was paged to get back to the bakery. Someone wanted a cake at 10:15 p.m. and asked me to write “Happy Birthday Anas” on it.  Can you imagine how I fought the urge to spell that wrong?????? But I was extra nice because they were Muslim and I didn’t want them to think I was racist. We dislike all customers equally late at night regardless of race, religion or sexual preferences.

I might have completely ‘lost it’ today.  I would be there right now, in the insanity of Sunday/ holiday shoppers. Oh God, I am so glad I’m at home!

Checklist: Made some money, saw Minions, spent time with family, today I can relax….. and I have the satisfaction that I toughed out a hard two weeks. It’s over!

What would I rather be doing? HA! Retired with money, of course.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Obstacle Course.”

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt; I worked.

Leave a Reply

