I Should Not Be So Hard on Myself.

That’s how anxious people torture themselves;  ‘I should……. [be perfect].

When I read this prompt; Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.   a list of should’s scrolled down in my mind.  They come easily because I repeat them everyday, maybe even several times a day.

I should quit eating so many snacks at night.

I should clean up the hidden piles.

I should eat more salad.

There’s more and worse but I wouldn’t tell you.

I fight against should!  I fight against should because I had it shoved in my face for so many years the old ‘should’ voices still nag in the back of my mind.

When I find myself getting anxious about what I should be doing I stand up and tell myself, “I should be doing what ever the hell I want!”

(except eating too many snacks at night; I really should stop doing that)

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/shoulda-woulda-coulda/

3 thoughts on “I Should Not Be So Hard on Myself.

Leave a Reply

