No Rings Today……

socs-badge

Last week I had to start work at 8:00 a.m. which means getting up at 5:30. For that I set up the alarm. It’s only one hour earlier than I wake up anyway but it still feels like it’s too early.

Not today, although I’m not happy about it.  Today my hours are 2:00 to 10:00. Eight hours. And I have to punch out for an hour for an unpaid lunch. What am I going to do for an hour on a hot Saturday in a crowed beach town? Get rested for the night’s work? I think not. Hopefully it won’t be too hot so I can go to the staff picnic table outside beside the parking lot.

Then I’ll go in for a massive clean-up from a busy Saturday and work until 10:00. I’ll get home tonight at 10:30. Hopefully. The traffic around Grand Bend on a summer weekend is crazy. I have to leave early to take the long way around because it takes too long to drive through town. I might have to take the long way around tonight coming home.

I could wring my boss’s neck for putting me on these hours. Who else works these hours? The two 17 year olds.  I can’t work as hard as a 17 year old! Surprise, surprise!

At least I’m not on tomorrow….. he’s done it to others….. work until 10:00 and be in the next day at 8:00. I have to think that is punishment. It’s the law that you have to have 12 hours before returned for another shift.  That’s barely legal.

However, last weekend my co-worker whispered to me she wanted to get away “so stay close to the phone Sunday”. She’s said that before and hasn’t done it yet but…… please don’t let that phone ring tomorrow.

http://lindaghill.com/2015/07/10/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-1115/

2 thoughts on “No Rings Today……

  1. Ahhh the Clopening shifts…don’t you love those? As for the hour lunch I agree! I used to find that it was too long and preferred the half hour paid lunch…grab a coffee and a bagel, have a smoke, head back in. Well…enjoy your day off!

    • My boss asked me if I would come in today to help the other girls as it’s so busy. At least I don’t have to go in until 11:00 and I’m off at 4:00. Oh well, its money.

Leave a Reply

