The Painting Resumes…. sort of

I got another wall done yesterday. It’s so frustrating how long this is taking.

Monday I went and bought the paint for the walls then visited with my sister as my niece and grandnephew were there.  In the afternoon I got one wall done.

The next morning I had a dental appointment and got a note from a friend that said she would drop in after lunch and we could go for a walk. This is a big deal for me; I’m making a new friend.  After I got home from the dentist, I saw my place through other people’s eyes: in the midst of painting and two days of depression, its really a mess. So I started cleaning.

Somewhere between 2:30 and 3:00 my friend hadn’t showed up and I decided it was too late to start painting so I had a nap. She showed up around 4:30 and said she worked that morning then came home and had a nap. Yep, once you reach 60, afternoon naps are almost necessary to get through the rest of the day.

We just talked but that was great. I have a friend and she has a sister so I made two friends!

That night my 92 year old aunt went into the hospital. I made plans to go with my sister to see her but in the morning, my sister said I really didn’t need to go. I had all day to paint so I took the ‘out’.

I got a good start the next morning….. again, it takes a long time to tape things up and cover everything. I did all the trims and the double doors, a second coat on the main wall……. and then my body gave up.  My arms would not go up anymore and the next stretch was the little strip above the cupboards. I was sweating, grouchy and tired and it was only 2:40. Damn, so much for ‘all day’.  An early start just means you burn out earlier.  I cleaned up, laid down and was out like a light.

When I woke up I texted my sister because I hadn’t heard from her. She was still at the hospital and hadn’t spoken to the doctor’s yet. I felt so bad for her and so guilty for not being there. They had phoned her at 3:15 a.m. (yes, 3:15 a.m.) to get information on my aunt. She was beyond tired.

(My aunt will make it and be in the hospital for the long weekend.)

Today I have to take my car in at 10:00 and get my sister to pick me up (sorry, Jen)  and wait for it. I’ll get home this afternoon for a few hours then back to Grand Bend to work at 5:00. No painting today.

Tomorrow I work at night again so I hope to get more done during the day.

I don’t know yet if I’m working Sunday or Monday; I haven’t been at work to see next week’s schedules. And I should visit my aunt.

I originally thought I was going to finish this last weekend. Now I will happy if I can get it finished this weekend.

My friend asked me what colour I was going to do the living room. I said, “HA!  Not this year!”

I just want to get this done.

002

 

4 thoughts on “The Painting Resumes…. sort of

Leave a Reply

