The Paint Job ; part 2

OK! Thanks to Maggie and Helen I’m going to post this project to the end. I was laying in bed, hot-flashing, last night thinking ‘now I HAVE to do it.’  Earlier I could foresee dragging this on over the summer but this will spur me on to finish much faster.

Yesterday I wrote about procrastinating then pushed myself into starting. I found at least an hour’s worth of ‘things to do first’; like this;

003 protect the ceiling fan.

I had bought a 25 foot roll of plastic and cut it up into 8 ft. sections for Phil Monstera, the cabinets and island. (Yes, most older Canadians still use the archaic measurements when it comes to feet vs. metres) At the time I didn’t realize I’d be documenting the project so I didn’t take photos of everything covered but here’s what my kitchen will look like for a while;

005

 

Yesterday was unseasonable warm and humid so I sweated profusely all day; cursing and irritable, it was like a 3 hour hot-flash. I even shed a few tears at the end; “I hate this!”, I blubbered.

Yes, I said 3 hours. When I finally tapped out and felt I could do no more….. it was only 3 hours. That’s age, folks. You can be healthy and feisty and raring to go on a project but you only have so much energy. It’s a bummer! I just can’t do what I used to do!

I realized that last week when I went to dig out a crowded, old shrub….. I just can’t work as hard any more! I just stared at it for a minute then walked away, forlorn.  Is that ‘over the hill’?

Well, ‘one foot in front of the other’; ‘do what I can do’ and all that.

That crisp white ceiling looks so good! Too bad it’s cloudy today; but here it is anyway.

004

Here’s where I start today;

006You can make out the line where I left off at the cabinets. (The bookshelf and rugs are pulled out from the kitchen)

Here I go again……

 

5 thoughts on “The Paint Job ; part 2

  1. I know what you mean. I am not as productive as k once was. I need to paint my inside doors. Seven of them! My son-in-law hung them for me two and a half years ago. They are coming for a visit in July. I better get started! ~Elle

  2. Perhaps you will inspire me to decorate this summer. I think I can get away with not painting the ceilings – no-one smokes and they look ok for now. I’ll work on the 60:30 principle – paint for 60 minutes – sit down and have a cup of tea and a biscuit for 30 minutes and repeat – until you run out of energy, walls, paint, tea or biscuits 🙂

  3. No, not over the hill at all! (You can’t be, I’m older.) Ceilings are awful. You’ve done brilliantly! I do recomment The R.S’s 60:30 principle, although I’d say 60;15 – after 30, it’s harder to get going again.

  4. You’re going to be so glad you took the time to do things like cover the fan and tape everything. It is a pain in the butt and takes three times longer than it should but it is worth it. Unless you are paying you by the hour, who cares how long it takes?

Leave a Reply

