Insidious Racism

I can’t believe how many hidden racists there are. Since this Ipperwash incident happened I’ve been hearing racist comments at work and I’m going home furious. People who would never use the ‘n’ word don’t think twice about saying racial slurs against First Nations peoples. It makes me sick. I’d had two encounters with three mindless people who say dumb things just out of habit. They don’t know any native people and know nothing of the history. Sheer ignorance.

I’ve driven home twice so angry. I thought about a friend saying, “that’s not good for your blood pressure”.  That night I went home and Googled “racism in the work place” and how to deal with it. Something jumped out at me, “Don’t let them get you angry and raise your blood pressure”

I think that was a message. I was going to ask the owners to post a memoramdum that racism wouldn’t be tolerated in the work place. Yesterday they weren’t there and nobody said anything.

Time’s up. I had so much more to rant aboot, too!

 

today’s prompt;  set a timer for ten minutes. Write without pause (and no edits!) until you’re out of time. Then, publish what you have (it’s your call whether or not to give the post a once-over).

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-7/

One thought on “Insidious Racism

Leave a Reply

