Daily Prompt; Please, Be Brief.

Today’s prompt asks us where we stand on brevity vs. verbosity.

I can’t stand blather. “Verbal diarrhea” is a term I learned from a high school teacher who not only said it to us but made sure we understood the meaning; when crap just pours out of the mouth, non-stop.  What makes it even funnier is that he taught geography. I remember it well because I thought it was hilarious and have used the term often.

I don’t like chit-chat. The answering machine was the best invention, ever. Call display is worth $5 a month.  I hated going on Facebook until I found out I could turn off the “chat”.   “What are you doing?”  Well, obviously I’m on the computer on Facebook.  Then try to communicate by typing? Slow torture.

I met a Zen Buddhist who tried to talk with the least possible amount of words. No lengthy descriptions or pondering thoughts…. sometimes he was hard to understand as he would leave out any words he deemed unnecessary. Maybe that’s taking things a bit too far but I respect the discipline.

There are many times when just a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ is required but some feel they have to explain first why they are going to say ‘yes’ or ‘no’ then never get to it. You are supposed to glean the answer from their lengthy response. You listen and nod but go away thinking, “Did that mean yes or no?”

In my blog I write a lot more than I post. That is why it takes me so long to write one. I go through it and take stuff out that is not on point. I cut, cut and re-vise.

In the blogs I read, if they are too long and wander off topic, I won’t finish them. Just state what you want to say.

This is already over 300 words: ’nuff said.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/brevity-pulls/

Leave a Reply

