Daily Prompt: “Uuhhh…..”

 “When was the last time you were completely stumped by a question, a request, or a situation you found yourself in? How did you handle it?”

Working with the public you get asked some stupid questions but you mustn’t laugh in their face and say “seriously?” or shake your head and sigh.

You glaze over your eyes and put on a frozen smile. “Just one moment, I’ll go check…..”. Go to your supervisor, who barely tolerates stupid questions from you already, and repeat the question.

This happened when I first started at the bakery.

“What’s the best cake for a diabetic?”  an elderly lady asked.

I turned and repeated the question to my boss who sneered back as if I was stupid for not knowing…..  “VaNILLaaaa”

I kept the frozen smile and turned back to the customer. She made a little face as if to say ‘oops!’  and said “I didn’t know”

“me, neither.” I said.

We bonded like a couple of kids who just got scolded; heads down and snickering.

 

Footnote; I have been asked that question again and said “all cakes have sugar but vanilla has a little less”    But in my head I was yelling, “are you kidding me? no cake at all is good for a diabetic!!”

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/curve-balls/

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: “Uuhhh…..”

  1. The whole time I was reading this my head was yelling the same thing! Although, diabetics can eat a lot more now than when they were allowed 23 years ago when we found out my 16 year old was diabetic. To me less is better! Funny post!

Leave a Reply

