Too old to party? Too young to die.

Daily Prompt; You wake up one day and realize you’re ten years older than you were the previous night. Beyond the initial shock, how does this development change your life plans?

That did happen to me! I really feel 71 today instead of 61.

This weekend my sister and I made a long drive to Bracebridge for an annual reunion. I met a great group of friends in Toronto in my early twenties. They had been friends since public school and when I started to date one, they took me in as one of their own. Thanks to Facebook, we all re-connected and meet at a friends cottage this time every year. We reminisce about the good times and good music and how freaking lucky we were to live in Toronto in the “Summer of Love”….. before AIDS and crack. If crack had been around it might have been a much sadder story.

The cottage used to belong to my boyfriends parents so we remember going up on weekends. Sometimes we could go up with our friends and no parents and stay up all night doing ‘mind-expanding’ drugs.

I remember when we were this age wondering what we would be like when we were old; joking at playing old and feeble; “Remember when we used to do acid and try to walk across the falls?” Now there we are; just like that!

Oh gosh, we were young then. This year, with our little bits of pot, wine coolers or beer, we barely made it to midnight. The next morning we were all up for coffee by 8:00 and wanting to get home to our own bathrooms and beds.

But back to the subject of this blog; I feel ten years older today but if it were really true I wouldn’t have to go to work tomorrow because I’d be retired!!!! Yahoo!

013

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/new-wrinkles/

2 thoughts on “Too old to party? Too young to die.

Leave a Reply

