Daily Prompt; **!Sixty-One!** (applause)

I’m glad you asked.  Not many people have the nerve or lack of social graces to ask my age anymore but I have no problem when they do….. I’m 61!  Taa daa! And I’m proud of it.  I see no reason to lie about my age. What if I said I was 58? Who the hell cares? I’ll never understand women who do that. “If you are worried what people think of you, just remember how little they do”. -Dr. Phil (sorry!)

But I really don’t like it when women ask me how old I think they are. It’s a loaded question that fills my heart with fear. Never answer that question honestly. That happened recently; someone who had been very proud of looking young but cigarettes and poor eating habits were starting to take their toll. “You have to be at least ten years younger than me”, I lied to be safe. She was 12 years younger than me, (phew).

When you are young you can do anything to your body and it doesn’t show. But what you choose to do in those years will start showing up in your 50’s and it’s a slippery downhill slope from then on. At my age a healthy 70 year old can look as good as an unhealthy 60 year old and a very unhealthy 55 year old. So, in that respect, the number doesn’t matter.

Now it’s a curiosity; How old are you?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/age-old-questions/

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt; **!Sixty-One!** (applause)

  1. I’ve never understood why women lie about their age, but what the hell do I know? I’m not a woman. Then again, I’ve heard more than one man lie about his age or avoid the question as though it’s embarrassing.

    Anyway, here’s a bit of historical humor on the subject.

    “The years that a woman subtracts from her age are not lost. They are added to the ages of other women.” — Diane de Poitiers (Mistress of Henri II)

Leave a Reply

