Daily Prompt: The Guilt that Haunts Me: Can I think about this after Christmas, please?

Come on, now. It’s Christmas Eve, for Pete’s Sake! Everyday I’m prompted to dig up some dead memories best left forgotten. I’m spillin’ my guts, man! Now today I can’t help but dive into that mess of memories and pull out the things I’m most ashamed of.  Things I still feel so bad about it gives me a hot flash to think about it. [My hand slaps over squinted eyes and I shake my head in shame] Two incidents come to mind:

The time I ate some hashish in the afternoon when I had a date with my Dad to go see a jazz quartet that night. I thought I would get high in the afternoon then go out with my Dad. It took all afternoon to take effect so when it was time to go I was way too stoned. Having been a jazz musician himself, he knew damn well what was wrong with me and went alone.  I’d give anything to get that day back again.

And then the time I sent a perfectly nice man (and he looked like Cat Stevens) out into the middle of a cold night because someone who wasn’t nice to me wanted me back so much. I would react so much differently now.

So that’s it. The shortest version of my most shameful moments. I don’t want to mull over the crappy things I’ve done today…… oops, too late!

Merry Christmas, everyone!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/24/prompt-guilty/

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Guilt that Haunts Me: Can I think about this after Christmas, please?

  1. […] Mother Teresa Flowers and BreezesFeelings Of Remorse As I pleaseA Death in Morocco kaffechaiGiving sixty, single and survivingThe Guilt that Haunts Me: Can I think about this after Christmas, please? Whispered WordsBuying Reflections fragments of lifeunpardonable meanderedwanderingsThe Baggage of […]

Leave a Reply

